Problems in compiling root 5.14

Hi,

I’m a newbie to use Linux. I’m using FC 6 , gcc 4.1. and trying to install root 5.14 these days.

I met this error when I compiled root.

g++ -m32 -O   -o bin/root rootx/src/rootx.o test.o rootx/src/rootxx.o -L/usr/X11R6/lib -lXpm  -lXext -lX11

/usr/X11R6/lib/libXpm.a(parse.o): In function xpmParseExtensions': parse.c: (.text+0x13f8): undefined reference to__ctype_b’
/usr/X11R6/lib/libXpm.a(data.o): In function xpmNextWord': data.c: (.text+0x482): undefined reference to__ctype_b’
data.c: (.text+0x4bf): undefined reference to __ctype_b' data.c: (.text+0x504): undefined reference to__ctype_b’
data.c: (.text+0x51b): undefined reference to __ctype_b' /usr/X11R6/lib/libXpm.a(data.o):data.c: (.text+0x532): more undefined references to__ctype_b’ follow
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [bin/root] Error 1

I'm not sure how to solve it. It may be related to the GCC version.  But the strange thing is, when I make again another day, the error disapear, and the make process seemed successfully. 
But another problem occured, after I entered 'root' to install. 

the prompt showed:

*** DISPLAY not set, setting it to 10.160.15.127:0.0
 and 
 root: can't start ROOT --check that ...root.exe exist    

And I found that even though I set the ROOTSYS, there is no root files after compiling. 

How can I solve these problems?

Thanks a lot.

Dan

Hhmm, interesting since there are no compiler errors, but only linking problems. It is likely a problem due to using gcc 4.1. Is this the default compiler or did you install it yourself? Try the latest version of ROOT otherwise.

Cheers, Fons.

Thanks.
Geant has been installed in this computer. Gcc 4.1 is the latest version, may be it was updated by others before.

Actually, I’m trying to install GATE in computer. The code source recommend the root version of 5.14 if I will install GATE 3.12. Does it matter if I install the latest version of ROOT?